Submissions Requested for AEVVA 2013

The AEVVA committee is now accepting submissions/nominations for the 2nd AEVVA award. The Award is for a book that must be a first-edition full length science fiction novel or full-length science fiction short story anthology, written by an author linked to Western Canada by birth or residency. The current nominated work  is to have been published during the period 2007 to 2012 by an author from Western Canada (encompassing British Columbia to Manitoba.

During 2012, The Winnipeg Science Fiction Association Inc (WINSFA) was delighted to announce the creation of the A.E. VAN VOGT Award (The A.E.V.V.A.).

100 years ago, on April 26, 1912, Alfred Elton Van Vogt was born on a farm in Edenburg, a Russian Mennonite community east of Gretna, Manitoba, Canada. By July 1939, he had written his first Science Fiction story and had it professionally published.. He continued to write in Winnipeg until 1944 and it was during this time that one of his major stories “SLAN” was written. By 1995 he was awarded the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award by the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA) . He has been the ONLY Canadian Science Fiction Writer to be awarded this major title.

The Winnipeg Science Fiction Association (WINSFA) has taken advantage of this moment in time to create an award to honor this Manitoba born writer and his unique position as Canada’s only Grand Master and we extend our sincere gratitude to Van Vogt’s family for granting permission to honor his name & works.

This award is called the A.E.Van Vogt Award or AEVVA.

We believe that this award, based on spotlighting the best in Canadian Science Fiction Writing over the past years, will:

  • Draw attention to Canadian Science Fiction
  • Demonstrate that Canada has been producing World class writers for some time.
  • Cause more people to talk about Science Fiction .
  • Promote better writing.
  • Discover more writers.

The actual award consists of a presentation piece and monetary prize.


Alphanauts by Brian J. Clarke (Edge) won the inaugural A.E. Van Vogt Award (AEVVA) for 2012 — awarded to a first edition full-length science fiction novel or anthology, written by an author linked to Western Canada by birth or residency. The award was announced on January 2, 2013.

Alphanauts by Brian J. Clarke


Publishers may enter up to three full-length science fiction novels or science fiction short story

anthologies, each of them published after March 1, 2007 or prior to December 31, 2012.

b) Entries (finished books or galleys, no loose pages) are to be submitted according to the following schedule:

c) Books received or postmarked after the final deadline of August 31, 2013 will not be eligible.

d) The A.E. Van Vogt Award also requests that publishers submit an advance notice list of all eligible published science fiction, to be received no later than August 21,2013 . This list must include title, imprint, author, ISBN, and date of publication.

e) The A.E. Van Vogt Award may, at any time, call in a book, even if that book has not been

submitted as an eligible title. In that event, the publisher will be required to complete an entry

form, sign and submit the entry form along with three copies of an e-book or five copies of the

printed book to the committee, and comply with all other Rules and Regulations.

Submissions must be received or postmarked no later than August 31, 2013.

By johnthebearsden

One comment on “Submissions Requested for AEVVA 2013

  1. Pingback: Submissions Requested for AEVVA 2013 | The A.E. van Vogt Book Award

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s